Overview
The number 42, spelled out as forty-two, is an even positive integer. In mathematics, every integer has a unique set of properties that define its role in arithmetic, algebra, and number theory. On this page we explore everything there is to know about the number 42 — from its divisibility and prime factorization to its trigonometric values, binary representation, and cryptographic hashes.
Parity and Sign
Primality and Factorization
Special Classifications
Digit Properties
[...]
SHA-512: 39ca7ce9ecc69f696bf7d20bb23dd1521b641f806cc7a6b724aaa6cdbffb3a023ff98ae73225156b2c6c9ceddbfc16f5453e8fa49fc10e5d96a3885546a46ef4.
Collatz Conjecture
Goldbach’s Conjecture
Roman Numerals
In the Roman numeral system, 42 is written as XLII. Roman numerals originated in ancient Rome and use combinations of letters (I, V, X, L, C, D, M) with subtractive notation for certain values. They remain in use today on clock faces, in book chapters, film sequels, and formal outlines.
Programming
In software development, the number 42 can be represented across dozens of programming languages.
For example, in C# you would write int number = 42;,
in Python simply number = 42,